Woven Recycled Newspaper Baskets

Happy Earth Day!

yay! we are back to doing Wednesday crafts at the school.  Yesterday we made easy woven baskets  using newspapers.  how’s that as a great idea for recycling 😉  And with May Day in just 9 days, we got May Day and Earth Day taken care of with one craft.  next week we are making paper flowers to put in the baskets for May Day.

I started out with the instructions from Family Fun website. I found step 1 to be confusing so here’s what I did…

I cut strips of newspaper into 2.5 x 11 inches.  I made sure that the newspaper I was using was NOT current events or anything inappropriate on either side.  the ads worked the best. 

We then folded the strips of newspaper in half, opened it up and folded the edges inward meeting in the middle. then we folded it in half again.  (for those of you who sew… it’s just like making double fold bias tape)

after that, I just followed the rest of the instructions just fine ~starting with step 2.  we did 3-4 rows of weaving. 

the kids had a great time making their  baskets!

About Melissa

I'm a wife to an Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons. I'm a student specializing in family history research; world traveler; creator of fanciful spaces (home decor), baby clothes, and baked treats; believer of Christ... I belong to the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
This entry was posted in crafts, montessori house, wednesday art class. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Woven Recycled Newspaper Baskets

  1. Tammy says:

    WOW!!! What a great idea!

  2. salleybee says:

    I love your heading picture. It is perfect – don’t ever change it! Oh, yes, the baskets are so clever.

Leave a comment