Greek Myths

Allyson  finished reading D’Aulaires’ Book of Greek Myths.  She’s been reading it for the past 2 months… just a story or two at a time.

I told her to pick her favorite Greek God, draw a picture, and write a little report about it.  She picked two!

Eos

 

 

Melampus

And we took the family to see “Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Lightning Thief” which we all LOVED but Allyson didn’t. *sigh* at least, that’s what she said to me.

Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Lightning Thief 

Alright, so I know this is typically what grade 5 would be learning, but since this was my first year homeschooling then Allyson needed a background on the Greek Myths before we could move ahead with Rome.  I fought tooth-and-nail with her to be interested in Greek Myths.  and she is NOT interested in Rome.  I am so proud that she actually got this assignment done!

Has anyone else had to deal with a situation like this?  I feel like we haven’t gotten much schooling done this year because we are stuck. 

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in books, grade 6, school work. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Greek Myths

  1. liebchenhut says:

    Homeschooling is a courageous endeavor! And, it should become your “baby”…so you “feel” in control and it flows with the rhythm of your family and most importantly with the likes and dislikes of each individual child. It certainly helps to have set curriculums to get ideas from but you are ultimately the deciding factor. If a child is not interested then find something she is interested in whether it is in a set curriculum or not. Life is so full of learning…there is so much to explore…why be stuck…soar free in life and your children will be very appreciative. Allow your children to give you ideas about what they are interested in and you outline your expectations for keys points that should be learned and what projects should show off these key points. Allow your children to find the books and other materials in all plethora for these interests of theirs (since your children are older this is doable) Homeschooling can be very rewarding…remember work together on their interests (do NOT worry they will learn about Rome and other “Waldorf” curriculum as time goes on) and homeschooling WILL blossom forth! (Whenever my children remark…”Oh, that is Waldorf”…I reply, “NO, this is our way”…I say this because this life is not Waldorf’s nor anyone else’s life…it belongs to all of us…)

  2. Our children just loved the Percy Jackson series.
    Warm wishes and joy, Tonya

Leave a Reply

