Window Stars

This semester, we are going to school with Samantha (every Wednesday)  so I can teach art classes.   MH elementary has Wednesdays set aside for art, science, KemPo, and cooking classes.  the class is split up into 4-5 groups of about 8 kids and they take turns going to their ‘stations’. 

Today’s lesson was Window Stars!  I got the tutorial from Nicole (HERE) but we used tissue paper instead of kite paper.   If you’ve never made these, it’s a great project!  even little 6 yr old were making them (with lots of help).

 

look how tiny the green one is!  the large ones were made using  5″ squares, the small ones were made using 2½” squares. 

 

One of the girls in the class made all these stars…  the big green and purple was made using 10″ squares.

 

now I need to come up with projects for the rest of the year.  If you have a fun suggestion, please let me know.  the kids are ages 6-12 years.

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in crafts, montessori house, wednesday art class. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Window Stars

  1. Claudette Hyde says:

    Last year Natalie and I did a project with her class that was fun. Get tissue paper in a lot of different colors and cut them into small squares (1/2-1″). Get a black and white picture of anything and make copies. For instance a flower. Water down glue in a bowl. Have each child take a pencil and put a piece of tissue paper over the eraser end. Twist slightly. Lightly dip into glue and place within the picture lines. If you press it for a few seconds, it will stick. Once the glue is dry you have a 3-D of the picture. We did it in Kindergarten and was a blast. Simple pictures were used. For the older kids, more elaborate pictures are fun. I had so much fun and I was the adult at the station.

  2. Debbie Willson says:

    These are awesome! I’ve never seen any made like this before but I plan to have a go at them now! 🙂

    Debs
    (angie’s fb friend!)
    sp4rk1e.com

  3. Tammy says:

    These are very pretty. My Katie could make these all day long and think only 10 minutes had passed. lol. They are so much fun to hang in all the windows!

Leave a Reply

