Christmas Around the World {Australia}

 Merry Christmas, mate!

I asked an Aussie friend to tell me about their Christmas traditions and she told me they are the same as in the USA except it’s hot so they have a picnic on the beach.  I needed lots more information than that so I had to google it. lol.

 I told the kids about the Carols by Candlelight…    a radio announcer was walking home from his night-time radio shift on Christmas Eve in 1937, he passed a window and saw inside an elderly woman sitting up in bed, listening to Away in a Manger being played on the radio and singing along, with her face being lit by candlelight. Wondering how many others spent Christmas alone, he had the idea to gather a large group of people to all sing Christmas carols together by candlelight.  now there are thousands of people that gather together all over Australia, holding candles and singing Christmas carols on Christmas Eve or the Sunday before Christmas. 

I also told the kids how Santa wears swim trunks and goes surfing.  and according to this song, his sleigh is pulled by six white boomers (big grandaddy kangaroos)

 

For lunch we ate homeade bread with baked beans on it…

 

 

and fairy sandwiches (white bread, spread with butter and sprinkles)

 

the little girls mostly just wanted the fairy sandwiches.

 

We made lamingtons for dessert (recipe HERE)

I couldn’t find a craft to do. if anybody has a good idea then let me know!

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in celebrations, food, school work. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Christmas Around the World {Australia}

  1. Tammy says:

    It looks like a lot of fun, this learning about Christmas. And how nice to be able to share the preparations and enjoyment with family, too!

  2. Tammy says:

    I also wanted to say we learned about Australia a while back and made lamingtons (pretty tasty). We didn’t learn about their Christmas though. A good friend of mine lives there and he recently said, too, about how sweltering it is at Christmas, though I didn’t know their Santa likes to surf, lol! And I love that his sleigh is pulled by kangaroos. 😉

  3. Alison says:

    Hi
    We live in Australia and because like your friend says it can get warm we have a family tradition of a picnic in the park with friends. We take a cold meal, often chicken, a salad and paprika potatoes and home-made sausage rolls. Also special star cookies + tons of fruit! Cherries are a special treat. Anyway if you check out my blog you’ll get some idea of how we live in South Australia!
    Your blog is great!!

Leave a Reply

