planning ahead

We went to my sister’s  house so that us mommy-teachers could plan out our December activities together.  we are going to be studying Christmas around the world.  We each picked 3 countries to teach for a total of 6 countries.  this year I’m teaching about the Christmas traditions in The Netherlands, Australia, And Mexico.  it’s lucky that I have friends that live in each of these countries so I can get some firsthand stories and recipies!

the plan is to tell a little Christmas story, sing or listen to a song, talk about their Christmas traditions,   do a little native craft, eat lunch with food from that country (including dessert)

 This is a very helpful book:

christmas crafts and customs

can you believe I got it from Goodwill for 25¢?!

 

While we were doing our planning, Allyson made times clocks for 2, 3, 4, and 5.   I think they turned out pretty good 🙂  next I’ll have her make 6-9.

 

here’s something else I finally figured out.  Felicity should be doing Waldorf Kindergarten! 

here’s the guideline…

the child should be 6 for most of the year of Kindergarten,7 for most of 1st grade, etc…   since Felicity turned 6 in June, she’s considered Kindergarten. 

wow, that is quite a load lifted off my shoulders since I can now spend most of my planning time figuring out how to teach Allyson. I’ve been in such turmoil worring about how to get the girls to respect me as a teacher.  Allyson doesn’t want to learn History.  she pretty much shuts down when I try to get her to learn any history at all right now, especially when I try to get her to read anything about the ancient cultures which she needs to know before we start in on Rome.  eek!  and I feel like I need someone to hold my hand though this, to tell me exactly what I need to do.  certain grown-ups (whom I love and respect) are loosing patience with me and how it’s taking so long to get my act together with this homeschooling adventure.  I hate feeling like I’m dissapointing my loved ones. I hate feeling like I’m being watched every second and being judged.  I hate that I don’t have much of a clue what to what I’m doing.  I hate feeling like our financial stresses are my fault because I chose to teach my children instead of going back to work.  I hate that I try so hard to get anyone interested in purchasing sweet baby items from me with no luck.  I did sell my first item on ETSY but guess what it was… a set of Martha Stewart stamps!

Okay, now I’m rambling so I’ll stop. 

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in books, school work. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to planning ahead

  1. Tammy says:

    I think your Christmas around the world sounds like a fabulous lesson block, and the multiplication clocks are very cool!

    Homeschooling will come together for you. I promise. You are the best mama they can have, and you will receive inspiration on what God wants you to teach them.

    I know we’ve never met, but I can feel for you. I once had my children in the public schools and brought them home to learn with me. It was a HUGE adjustment for all of us. Me. The kids. My hubby. My parents. My inlaws. All I can say now is that the people who were frustrated at first are now my biggest supporters. It will come in time. As they say, “the proof’s in the pudding.” My oldest 3 are now teens and my youngest is 9 1/2, and I’m realizing years into this that the world doesn’t revolve around random math facts and historical dates. It’s about raising kind and Christlike children who will make a difference in the lives around them. I’m constantly getting remarks from people in our ward and family in how well the girls are turning out. Hang in there. It will happen for you too. If God inspired you to teach your children at home, he will give you the tools, confidence, and ability to do so. He will not abandon you in such a beautiful process.

    Much love,
    Tammy

  2. sylviabee says:

    Sweet girl – Most who know you recognize the tremendous creativity you have (your Aunt Annie was just mentioning it to me last night as well as commenting on what a great mother you are)! The comments by Tammy are right on the button! Don’t let the negative stuff rain on your parade. 🙂

  3. Beth Miller says:

    I have to echo what Tammy and Mom said. Dearest Missy! You can do it, and you are amazing for trusting your inspiration and doing what you know is right. Just don’t let go of that. As you go down this path, God will stay by your side. Tammy is so right. It doesn’t happen overnight, but you will find the tools and confidence you need.

Leave a Reply

