Michaelmas Celebration

Welcome to our First Michaelmas Celebration!

We celebrated with my sister’s family (at her home)  last Wednesday.  check out Beth’s post about our celebration HERE..

Beth and I made golden capes for all of our children to wear.  She used silk scarves which she dyed with sunflowers, and I used some yellow cotton fabric from my stash. 

Michaelmas capes

 

the kids all made dragon bread.  Beth made the dough from Tasha Tudor’s white bread recipe from THIS COOKBOOK,and used goat milk!

MC felicity dragon bread  MC dragonbread 3 MC dragonbread 2 MC dragonbread

 

While the dragons slept in their cave (oven) the kids had a shooting star throwing contest out in the garden. 

MC ready

 

these cute daisy-on-a-stick marked the distance every 20 feet.

MC flower marker

 

the stars in action!

MC shooting stars

 

Beth’s Hubby made yummy potato soup to go with our dragonbread.

MC potatosoup

 

Allyson and Felicity made Texas Sheet Cake to bring for dessert. we put walnuts on half the cake so the kids that don’t like nuts would be happy too.

MC cake

 

I printed up these fun cake toppers with pictures of Ostheimer dragon and knights and Allyson glued them together with a toothpick between. (dragon on one side, knight on the other side)

MC cake toppers

 

After dinner, Beth’s kids did a skit of St George slaying the dragon…

MC skit

 

… and then our kids sang the song   A Boy’s Resolve  (found in the clump-a-dump and snickle-snack song book … by Johanne Russthat we taught the kids on that Monday.

just a note… teach the kids the song at the beginning of September next time! 

MC song

 

We wrapped up the celebration with the kids fighting the awesome dragon pinãta that her son made.

MC dragon 

MC A

MC candy

After the kids gathered all the candy, I had them put all of it together and divide it up evenly.

 

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in celebrations, crafts, food, school work. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Michaelmas Celebration

  1. Beth Miller says:

    Our first, definitely a new tradition! This was so fun, thanks for sharing it with us
    ❤ Beth

  2. Beth Miller says:

    Elsa is flying in that first picture! -Lucy

Leave a Reply

