Making Lesson Books

This is how we made our lesson books.

materials needed: 

  • 2 pieces of cardstock (for the cover)
  • 25 pieces of plain white paper (for the inside if the book)
  • 3 little paper clamps
  • pencil
  • clear ruler
  • crop-a-dile tool (to punch the holes)
  • embroidery thread
  • yarn needle
  1. on one piece of cardstock… measure ¼” from edge with ruler.  mark your dots every ½”.  you can do this on whichever edge you want.  we chose the long edge.
  2. put the paper together with the two pieces of cardstock on either side of the stack.  clamp the three unmarked sides so the paper won’t slip while being punched. *leave the clamps on until you are done sewing the book  together*
  3. punch the holes with a  1/8″  heavy duty hole puncher.  I used a crop-a-dile tool (which I bought at JoAnn’s,  using my 40% off coupon)
  4. sew through the holes using a blanket stitch
  5. remove clamps and decorate the cover! 

what it should look like when you are punching the holes:

makeabook

Allyson had a great time sewing her book together and taught Felicity how to do a blanket stitch.

A makingbook Abook

Felicity is licking the end of the embroidery floss so she can rethread her needle.  She sewed her book all by herself.

FL makingbook 

I wanted to point out how detailed Felicity is when she draws.  She drew a unicorn with sparkles by it’s head and bunnies on the front. check out her name on the top middle section next to the spine of the book. she wrote her name in mirror image without looking at the other side. this isn’t the first time she’s written her name like that! (click on the picture to see the detail)

FLbook

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in books, crafts, school work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

