Week 2

Monday… Labor Day

I didn’t plan anything for school because my other two daughters had the day off from school.  It’s funny though, the kids “played school” all day long! 

In the evening we got together with my family for a barbeque. the kids had a great time playing outside with their cousins .

Tuesday

Felicity:  I read  Grimm’s fairytale The Hut in the Forest.  She really liked how the hut turns into a castle and was excited to draw a picture about the story. suddenly she was  throwing a fit and gave up when she had trouble drawing stairs.

f castle drawing

 Allyson acted bored.  reluctantly wrote the multiplication table. 

A mult table

since then I discovered times clocks.  I think they will make it easier for Allyson to learn the times.

Wednesday

 I retold the Hut story to Felicity.  Neither girl wanted to cooperate so we had a Field Trip to the Library.  We got a few books about Egypt and Pyramids for Allyson.

a Egypt books

Allyson read Nuti’s Necklace on the way home and later she excitedly told me how the story really ends when they find the necklace but they made up the rest of the story for the book.

a mnecklace book

 Thursday

 I finally got Felicity  exited about writing H and drawing a house on the back porch with Allyson

 f house

Allyson wrote the questions and answered them from Activity 1 of this lapbook.

  a pyrimid q

a pyrimid map

When we got home from a church activity (it was dark) we went outside to see the beautiful mushroom that appeared in our backyard.  It looks like the fairies needed a little table. for a picnic perhaps?  I took a bunch of pictures and then Felicity had her turn with the camera.  here’s her pictures…

f shroom

f shroom 2

Friday

We had a fun, relaxing day!  Allyson has been memorizing a poem all week so today I had her recite it.  she had all but the last line memorized.

poem thedog

and then of course Felicity wanted to say a poem so she recited the first verse of Humpty Dumpty. 

Then we just took turns reciting poems and stories. 

Allyson got to spend a couple of hours at her Grandma’s house playing with one of her cousins.  When we went to pick her up, all the kids made cute Halloween tags.  The top one is Allyson’s, the bottom one is Felicity’s which she also cut out all by herself.

purple tags

 

As I was chatting {last night} with my dear friend Lori, she said…

“When you get discouraged it’s a good time to go outside, take a ride in the car, go on a picnic. I read somewhere that when you start home schooling you should take week or two to just get to know your child(ren) before you start the work. It’s a good adjustment period”

… so that is what I’m going to do, at least partially. 

I’m going to try to not be so hard on myself and just enjoy being together. and if that means Felicity doesn’t write her letters and Allyson doesn’t do math every single day, well, that’s OK.  at least we do Circle Time every day.  After all, wasn’t this the point of me homeschooling?  🙂

Wish me luck!

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in school work. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 2

  1. Tammy says:

    I agree with your friend Lori…take your time. Ease into it. Homeschooling is completely different from school in a brick and mortar building. I brought my kids home 8 years ago from public school and it took us a month or so to adjust.

Leave a Reply

