Our Crazy First Week

DAY ONE… Tuesday.

Felicity stayed home from school (again) because she got sick.  I didn’t want to have a waisted day so I thought I’d do something fun and educational with her.  I decided to read her a couple of books, and then have her make a bookmark.  I had to find some of the supplies in the garage and Felicity came out to help me.  of course we found more stuff than we needed, like the letter m that she colored!  the pictures are the fronts and backs of the bookmark and “m”

books

 bookmark bookmarkback

***

DAY TWO… Wednesday

tired of arguing about the prospect of homeschooling any of our kids (particularly Allyson and Felicity) I took Felicity to my sister’s house to do Waldorf homeschooling with them for the day.    Circletime, a story about a cat, drawing a polka dot cat in the letter of a “c” on a rug, and writing “c” and “cat”.  not bad for Felicity’s first try.

f cat

She also drew this nice tree.  Beth had us use her beeswax block crayons.  I have some of them myself but can’t find them!

f tree

Talked to Miss Sherrie (beloved teacher at Montessori House) and she gave some wonderful counsel in the aspect of homeschooling.  She homeschooled all 5 of her daughters at some point!

 ***
DAY THREE… Thursday

Allyson joined us for homeschooling.   Shawn is willing to let me give homeshooling a trial run.  She was so happy to be home that she cleaned the entire kitchen for me! (I could get use to this)

Circle time (on my own).  I’m feeling a little unprepared at this point and the day just started!  It ran smoothly enough.  need help figuring out just what to do!

had Allyson read book about Hellen Keller and write in her school journal.

 hellenkellerbook

Hmm… why can’t I remember what I had Felicity do?

We also went to the craft store to pick up some art supplies for water coloring.  I ended up getting all for kids a set of stickers where they scratch off the black and it makes a pretty, colorful design.  It kept them busy for HOURS!!!

art

***

DAY FOUR… Friday.

Oh boy, talk about overwhelming and not being prepared!

Circletime was good although I really need a strong plan beforehand.

Allyson wrote a book report and drew a picture about the Hellen Keller book she read the day before,

hellenkellerbookreport

wrote the braille alphabet & wrote a sentence about the book and translated it into braille. (she’s loving this!) 

braille

Also, she wrote in her school journal and tried to do some multiplication  problems that turned out to be too hard for her.  that didn’t stop her from trying over and over until she understood how to do 34 x 67.  I need to make some fashcards for her since she has trouble remembering the multiplication table. 

Samantha cried because I helped Felicity first.  how do I juggle 2 young children at the same time???

when it was her turn, I read an Indian story to her and had her write a sentence about it with a picture.  She was too distraught and ended up copying what Beth did the day before with HER third grader.  HELP!!

s crowdancers

Felicity: I read a cat story to her. she drew a picture of the animals from the story and wrote “c” and “cat” again.

catstorydrawings

 Shawn agreed to let me homeschool Allyson so I withdrew her from school this afternoon! whew! 

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in books, crafts, school work. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Our Crazy First Week

  1. Marsie says:

    Wow Missy! Way to go! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

