Welcome to my homeschooling blog!

I’m starting this blog as a place to document my homeschooling journey…

I have 4 daughters.  Sarah age 15, Allyson age 12, Samantha age 8, and Felicity age 6. 

easter 2009

This story starts with Sarah, even though she’s not going to be home schooled.   Sarah was a late talker and my husband, Shawn, and I were very naive about what to do so we had her tested to see what was wrong. The government had us put her in prescool when she was 4.  I wasn’t ready for her to go, but didn’t think I had a choice.  her class was at an elementary school where she was with the mentaly challenged kids (all ages… she was the only preschooler in there!  I didn’t like that)  So when it came time to put her in kindergarten, we put her in Franklin (a ‘back to basics’ school known for the kids being very advanced at least 1 grade level ahead of  kids that attend public school.) I didn’t like that either but Shawn went there when he was in 5th and 6th grade and did great. 

My poor little fairy child had a real hard time adjusting to waking up early but had a wonderful kindergarten teacher that truely loved Sarah and helped her learn in a way that she could understand. the only trouble I had with the school was that the homework that should take an average child 5 minutes at home was taking Sarah alot longer (HOURS).  the teacher told me to stop after the 5 minutes were up.  that helped the problem. 

First grade was a different story…. her teacher was a pregnant newlywed. Cute and friendly, but very naive when it comes to kids.  I had a friendly relationship with the teacher and would talk to her after school almost every day.  I thought everything was going great,  BOY WAS I WRONG!  The last quarter of school I went to the last parent/teacher conference of the schoolyear and was completely shocked to find out that my little girl didn’t have ANY recesses!  according to the school policy: if a child doesn’t get their homework done, they will have to do it during recess.  so the 10 minutes that were required for the first grader was taking Sarah untill 10:30pm to get done! that’s 7 hours of fighting to get my sweet inocent child to do something that she had no idea how to do!  so she NEVER had any kind of outlet. no playtime. that is bad, bad, bad!  kids NEED playtime! ESPECIALLY 6 year  olds!!!!  Oh, and then another problem was that Sarah had “accidents” because she was scared to ask if she could go to the bathroom.  The teacher responded by humiliating her: putting her name on the board, and then telling the clas that pee can make everyone else sick because of the germs it carries (I warned you that she was naive).  Needless to say, we found out that one of the women we went to church with had a Montessori school and got Sarah into that school, repeating first grade.  She thrived in that loving environment and now has moved on to another Montessori school for Middle School, and loves it! Sarah has an IEP. so there is lots of one-on-one time. 

Because of what we went through with Sarah, we’ve had all four of our children go to that (original) Montessori school. We love the program, the teachers, the environment.

Allyson just started 7th grade.  She’s a very …hmm, don’t want to use the word shy… she’s the kind of kid that you really have to reach out to and get to know before she’ll open up to you.   Now she just DID NOT want to grow up which meant leaving her beloved comfort zone at Montessori House and go to middle school.  the very thought terrified her!  School started 3 weeks ago and she was doing great… or so we thought.   Wednesday morning she had a breakdown and would NOT go to school! she cried all morning, locked herself in her room, and insisted she wanted to go back to her old school because she was just so overwhelmed!  

 PLEASE DO NOT TELL ME THAT MY KIDS ARE MANIPULATING ME!!!!! 

I went ahead and let her visit her old school for the day.  She had a wonderful time but the very thought of going back to middle school was making her sad and (littereally) ill.  she BEGGED me to homeshool her! 

So I’m giving it a try.

Not sure yet if  I’ll be homeschooling Samantha, but I’m definitely keeping Felicity home too. Life is just too short to fight with the kids about going to school.  AND I have my sister and a good friend helping me along the way.

Sorry about the long, boring post…. I’m just giving a background on our school experience.

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Welcome to my homeschooling blog!

  1. Beth Miller says:

    Your kids aren’t manipulating you, they are just responding to the world, just being kids!
    You can do this! I am so proud of you for taking it on.
    ❤ Beth

  2. sylviabee says:

    My amazing and courageous and sweet Missy – You never cease to to wonderful things – I think you are off to a super adventure as you teach your own children. Of course you will come up against many obstacles and trials, but that’s life. There will also be many incredibly satisfying experiences as you pursue your new goals. Follow your heart and stay optomistic no matter what decisions you make. This path is an unknown, but you’ve never been afraid of the storms. Love you, Mom

  3. Lori says:

    Missy- First of all, let me tell you that you are doing and AMAZING job. Second of all, your children are NOT manipulating you. Allyson and Mandy sound SO much alike! Oh, how I wish we lived closer, Sweets. Your story sounds so similar to mine… Look into the Oak Meadow curriculum for your girls. A friend of mine in Seattle uses it and loves, loves, loves it!!! They do have sales occasionally, too. Lori

  4. Tammy says:

    YOU CAN DO IT! 🙂 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

